Find USDA Eligible Properties in Jackson County

KS State Flag  Jackson County Seal

Realtors in Jackson browse list of realtors working in Jackson County
Hey, are you a realtor interested in helping families find USDA eligible properties in Jackson County?
Join the USDAProperties Realtor Network

Looking to buy in Jackson County, Kansas?

There are 72 USDA backed residential loans in Jackson county with an average loan balance of $100,936. Over 77% of the loans helped first time home buyers. Borrowers were an average age of 35 years old. The typical appraised home value was around $102,513. On average the rural home size purchased with this loan was approximately 1,531 SqFt. Jackson county applies the standard USDA income limits to determine loan eligibility. For a household of upto 4 people the income limit is $90,300. For a household of between 5 and 8 people the income limit is increased to $119,200.

The size of Jackson County is roughly 1,705 square kilometers. There are no geographical USDA loan restrictions in this county. The influence score for Jackson County is 6. Look below for the interactive county level map illustration below for more details.

Select from the list of cities below or use the search feature to find active property listings in a city where you would like to live.

Start your search for USDA loan eligible properties in the cities of Jackson County, KS   Jackson QR code
* cities most likely to have USDA loan eligible properties for sale.

Birmingham   •   *Circleville   •   *Delia   •   *Denison   •   *Holton   •   *Hoyt   •   *Mayetta   •   *Netawaka   •   *Soldier   •   *Whiting

A USDA loan is a mortgage option available to eligible homebuyers that is sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture to promote homeownership in rural communities. USDA Loans, sometimes called "RD Loans," offer 100% financing options on eligible rural properties. USDAProperties can help you find USDA properties in Jackson County.

Interested in the geographic boundaries that define USDA Loan eligibility?
View the detailed USDA boundaries and read about general conditions of
Jackson County, Kansas
USDA Boundary Details

Jackson County is located in the northeastern part of Kansas and was officially organized on February 20, 1859, covering an area of 657 square miles. Named after the seventh U.S. President, Andrew Jackson, it is home to approximately 13,000 residents. The county seat is Holton, which is also the largest city in the county.

In its early days, the county experienced turbulent times as Kansas was admitted to the Union as a free state. During the Civil War period and before Kansas statehood, several skirmishes and incidents occurred in the county, including the so-called "Battle of the Spurs." The region was primarily inhabited by the Potawatomi Native American tribe, who were forcibly moved from their lands in Indiana, Illinois, and other parts of the Midwest under the Indian Removal Act of 1830.

Agriculture has been historically significant in the county, with major crops including wheat, corn, and soybeans, as well as livestock production. The region has also experienced economic growth and development with the establishment of businesses, schools, and community institutions. In the early 1900s, Jackson County witnessed the construction of the Topeka State Hospital, a state psychiatric facility that shut down in 1997.

One fun fact about this region: Jackson County is home to Banner Lake, which is a major attraction for fishing, hunting, and wildlife watching. The lake was created as a result of coal mining that occurred in the area during the early 1900s. Nowadays, Banner Lake is stocked with various fish species and serves as a popular destination for outdoor enthusiasts.

Featured Cities of Kansas
Denison Soldier
Featured Properties from USDA Loan Eligible Regions of Jackson County