Find USDA Eligible Properties in Kearny County

KS State Flag  Kearny County Seal

Realtors in Kearny browse list of realtors working in Kearny County
Hey, are you a realtor interested in helping families find USDA eligible properties in Kearny County?
Join the USDAProperties Realtor Network

Looking to buy in Kearny County, Kansas?

There are 21 USDA backed residential loans in Kearny county with an average loan balance of $84,930. Over 90% of the loans helped first time home buyers. Borrowers were an average age of 39 years old. The typical appraised home value was around $89,295. On average the rural home size purchased with this loan was approximately 1,340 SqFt. Kearny county applies the standard USDA income limits to determine loan eligibility. For a household of upto 4 people the income limit is $90,300. For a household of between 5 and 8 people the income limit is increased to $119,200.

The size of Kearny County is roughly 2,256 square kilometers. There are no geographical USDA loan restrictions in this county. The influence score for Kearny County is 9. Look below for the interactive county level map illustration below for more details.

Select from the list of cities below or use the search feature to find active property listings in a city where you would like to live.

Start your search for USDA loan eligible properties in the cities of Kearny County, KS   Kearny QR code
* cities most likely to have USDA loan eligible properties for sale.

*Deerfield   •   Hartland   •   *Lakin   •   Sutton

A USDA loan is a mortgage option available to eligible homebuyers that is sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture to promote homeownership in rural communities. USDA Loans, sometimes called "RD Loans," offer 100% financing options on eligible rural properties. USDAProperties can help you find USDA properties in Kearny County.

Interested in the geographic boundaries that define USDA Loan eligibility?
View the detailed USDA boundaries and read about general conditions of
Kearny County, Kansas
USDA Boundary Details

Kearny County, located in the great state of Kansas, was established on March 27, 1873. Situated in the southwestern part of the state, it was named in honor of General Philip Kearny, a Union Army general who was killed in action during the American Civil War in 1862. Covering an area of around 871 square miles, Kearny County is part of the High Plains region, known for its vast stretches of flat land.

Before becoming a part of Kansas, the region was inhabited by various Native American tribes such as the Pawnee, Cheyenne, and Comanche. European exploration of the area began with the arrival of Spanish conquistador Francisco Vzquez de Coronado in 1541. Over the years, the region changed hands multiple times as different colonial powers, including France and Spain, laid claim to parts of the area.

Noteworthy events in the region's history include the Santa Fe Trail, an important commercial route that ran through Kearny County and connected Missouri to Santa Fe, New Mexico. Additionally, the construction of the Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway in the late 1800s boosted Kearny County's economic development.

Fun Fact: One interesting feature in Kearny County is the Kearny County Museum, which showcases the region's history and heritage. The museum is home to several unique artifacts, including a mammoth tusk discovered in the county and a 1903-era schoolhouse that has been fully restored. This glimpse into the area's past provides a fascinating look into the lives of the settlers who shaped the region's history.

Featured Cities of Kansas
Lakin Sutton
Featured Properties from USDA Loan Eligible Regions of Kearny County