Find USDA Eligible Properties in Woodson County

KS State Flag  Woodson County Seal

Realtors in Woodson browse list of realtors working in Woodson County
Hey, are you a realtor interested in helping families find USDA eligible properties in Woodson County?
Join the USDAProperties Realtor Network

Looking to buy in Woodson County, Kansas?

There are 17 USDA backed residential loans in Woodson county with an average loan balance of $59,115. Over 82% of the loans helped first time home buyers. Borrowers were an average age of 35 years old. The typical appraised home value was around $62,375. On average the rural home size purchased with this loan was approximately 1,525 SqFt. Woodson county applies the standard USDA income limits to determine loan eligibility. For a household of upto 4 people the income limit is $90,300. For a household of between 5 and 8 people the income limit is increased to $119,200.

The size of Woodson County is roughly 1,309 square kilometers. There are no geographical USDA loan restrictions in this county. The influence score for Woodson County is 9. Look below for the interactive county level map illustration below for more details.

Select from the list of cities below or use the search feature to find active property listings in a city where you would like to live.

Start your search for USDA loan eligible properties in the cities of Woodson County, KS   Woodson QR code
* cities most likely to have USDA loan eligible properties for sale.

Athens   •   Batesville   •   Cookville   •   Durand   •   Hasty   •   *Neosho Falls   •   *Piqua   •   Rose   •   *Toronto   •   Vernon   •   *Yates Center

A USDA loan is a mortgage option available to eligible homebuyers that is sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture to promote homeownership in rural communities. USDA Loans, sometimes called "RD Loans," offer 100% financing options on eligible rural properties. USDAProperties can help you find USDA properties in Woodson County.

Interested in the geographic boundaries that define USDA Loan eligibility?
View the detailed USDA boundaries and read about general conditions of
Woodson County, Kansas
USDA Boundary Details

Woodson County, located in the great state of Kansas, was officially established on August 25, 1855, as one of the first 33 counties founded in Kansas Territory. It is named in honor of Daniel Woodson, the fifth Secretary of Kansas Territory. The county is situated in the southeastern part of Kansas and covers an area of approximately 506 square miles. The county seat and largest city is Yates Center.

Before the arrival of European settlers, the region was primarily occupied by Native American tribes, including the Osage, who used the area as their hunting and camping grounds. In 1803, the area that would become Woodson County was acquired by the United States as part of the Louisiana Purchase.

Settlement in the area began in the 1850s, and increased after the Civil War as homesteaders arrived seeking farmland. The region soon became known for its agriculture, particularly the production of corn, wheat, and livestock. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, oil was discovered in the area, bringing further development to the county.

A fun fact about Woodson County is that it is known locally as the "Prairie Hay Capital of the World" due to the large amounts of prairie hay grown and harvested here. The county hosts an annual "All Kansas Hay Show" in Yates Center, where farmers from across the state gather to showcase the quality of their hay production.

Featured Cities of Kansas
Rose Yates_Center
Featured Properties from USDA Loan Eligible Regions of Woodson County