Find USDA Eligible Properties in East Carroll Parish

LA State Flag  East_Carroll County Seal

Realtors in East_Carroll browse list of realtors working in East Carroll Parish
Hey, are you a realtor interested in helping families find USDA eligible properties in East Carroll Parish?
Join the USDAProperties Realtor Network

Looking to buy in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana?

There are 22 USDA backed residential loans in East Carroll parish with an average loan balance of $90,084. Over 100% of the loans helped first time home buyers. Borrowers were an average age of 35 years old. The typical appraised home value was around $96,863. On average the rural home size purchased with this loan was approximately 1,964 SqFt.

The size of East Carroll Parish is roughly 1,145 square kilometers. There are no geographical USDA loan restrictions in this parish. The influence score for East Carroll Parish is 8. Look below for the interactive parish level map illustration below for more details.

Select from the list of cities below or use the search feature to find active property listings in a city where you would like to live.

Start your search for USDA loan eligible properties in the cities of East Carroll Parish, LA   East_Carroll QR code
* cities most likely to have USDA loan eligible properties for sale.

Alsatia   •   Atherton   •   Cottonwood   •   Gassoway   •   Greenfield   •   Grimes   •   Hollybrook   •   *Lake Providence   •   Millikin   •   Panola   •   Roosevelt   •   Shelburn   •   Sondheimer   •   Transylvania

A USDA loan is a mortgage option available to eligible homebuyers that is sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture to promote homeownership in rural communities. USDA Loans, sometimes called "RD Loans," offer 100% financing options on eligible rural properties. USDAProperties can help you find USDA properties in East Carroll Parish.

Interested in the geographic boundaries that define USDA Loan eligibility?
View the detailed USDA boundaries and read about general conditions of
East Carroll Parish, Louisiana
USDA Boundary Details

East Carroll Parish is located in the northeastern part of Louisiana in the United States. It was established on March 28, 1877, and named after Charles Carroll, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and the last surviving Founding Father. The parish is part of the Mississippi Delta region and has its western boundary on the Mississippi River.

The area was initially inhabited by Native American tribes such as the Mississippian Culture, Swift Creek Culture, and Marksville Culture. In the early 1700s, European and French explorers ventured through the region, laying the foundation for future settlements. The French claimed the territory and eventually ceded it to Spain as a part of the Treaty of Paris in 1763. After the secret Treaty of San Ildefonso in 1800, the land was returned to France. In 1803, the United States acquired the region as part of the Louisiana Purchase.

During the 19th century, East Carroll Parish became an agricultural hub, with cotton being a major cash crop. This led to a boom in the plantation economy which, unfortunately, resulted in the forced labor of enslaved African Americans. The end of the Civil War in 1865 and the Reconstruction era saw significant changes in the social, political, and economic landscape of the parish.

One fun fact about East Carroll Parish is that it is home to Poverty Point, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Poverty Point includes large prehistoric earthworks built by Native Americans around 17001200 BCE, which predates most of the famous ancient sites, including the Great Pyramids of Egypt. It is considered one of the most significant archaeological sites in North America and offers a unique insight into the lives and culture of the native people who once inhabited the area.

Featured Cities of Louisiana
Transylvania Atherton
Featured Properties from USDA Loan Eligible Regions of East Carroll Parish