Find USDA Eligible Properties in Calhoun County

IA State Flag  Calhoun County Seal

Realtors in Calhoun browse list of realtors working in Calhoun County
Hey, are you a realtor interested in helping families find USDA eligible properties in Calhoun County?
Join the USDAProperties Realtor Network

Looking to buy in Calhoun County, Iowa?

There are 102 USDA backed residential loans in Calhoun county with an average loan balance of $56,238. Over 81% of the loans helped first time home buyers. Borrowers were an average age of 35 years old. The typical appraised home value was around $56,335. On average the rural home size purchased with this loan was approximately 1,465 SqFt. Calhoun county applies the standard USDA income limits to determine loan eligibility. For a household of upto 4 people the income limit is $90,300. For a household of between 5 and 8 people the income limit is increased to $119,200.

The size of Calhoun County is roughly 1,482 square kilometers. There are no geographical USDA loan restrictions in this county. The influence score for Calhoun County is 9. Look below for the interactive county level map illustration below for more details.

Select from the list of cities below or use the search feature to find active property listings in a city where you would like to live.

Start your search for USDA loan eligible properties in the cities of Calhoun County, IA   Calhoun QR code
* cities most likely to have USDA loan eligible properties for sale.

*Farnhamville   •   *Jolley   •   *Knierim   •   Knoke   •   *Lake City   •   Lavinia   •   *Lohrville   •   *Manson   •   Piper   •   *Pomeroy   •   Rands   •   Richard   •   *Rinard   •   *Rockwell City   •   Sherwood   •   *Somers   •   *Twin Lakes   •   Wightman   •   *Yetter

A USDA loan is a mortgage option available to eligible homebuyers that is sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture to promote homeownership in rural communities. USDA Loans, sometimes called "RD Loans," offer 100% financing options on eligible rural properties. USDAProperties can help you find USDA properties in Calhoun County.

Interested in the geographic boundaries that define USDA Loan eligibility?
View the detailed USDA boundaries and read about general conditions of
Calhoun County, Iowa
USDA Boundary Details

Calhoun County is situated in the northwestern part of the great state of Iowa. It was officially established on January 15, 1851, and originally named Fox County after the Meskwaki people, who were known as Fox Indians. However, just a few months later, in August 1851, the county was renamed Calhoun County, honoring the U.S. Vice President and South Carolina statesman, John C. Calhoun.

Throughout its history, Calhoun County has been mainly an agricultural region, with its fertile soil providing the basis for a prospering farming community. Early settlements, like Manson, Rockwell City, and Lake City, fueled the growth of the county. The development of the Illinois Central Railroad, which passed through Calhoun County in the 1870s, further contributed to the expansion of towns and economic development.

Today, agriculture remains the backbone of Calhoun County's economy, with a focus on corn and soybean production. The county is also known for its charming small towns, local museums, parks, and outdoor recreational opportunities.

Fun fact: Twin Lakes, a popular recreational area in Calhoun County, is home to two natural glacial lakes North Twin Lake and South Twin Lake which feature camping, fishing, boating, and various water sports, making it a natural attraction for both tourists and locals.

Featured Cities of Iowa
Rands Lohrville
Featured Properties from USDA Loan Eligible Regions of Calhoun County