Find USDA Eligible Properties in Clay County

NC State Flag  Clay County Seal

Realtors in Clay browse list of realtors working in Clay County
Hey, are you a realtor interested in helping families find USDA eligible properties in Clay County?
Join the USDAProperties Realtor Network

Looking to buy in Clay County, North Carolina?

There are 48 USDA backed residential loans in Clay county with an average loan balance of $116,004. Over 83% of the loans helped first time home buyers. Borrowers were an average age of 37 years old. The typical appraised home value was around $127,687. On average the rural home size purchased with this loan was approximately 1,361 SqFt. Clay county applies the standard USDA income limits to determine loan eligibility. For a household of upto 4 people the income limit is $90,300. For a household of between 5 and 8 people the income limit is increased to $119,200.

The size of Clay County is roughly 572 square kilometers. There are no geographical USDA loan restrictions in this county. The influence score for Clay County is 9. Look below for the interactive county level map illustration below for more details.

Select from the list of cities below or use the search feature to find active property listings in a city where you would like to live.

Start your search for USDA loan eligible properties in the cities of Clay County, NC   Clay QR code
* cities most likely to have USDA loan eligible properties for sale.

Brasstown   •   Elf   •   Fires Creek   •   *Hayesville   •   Pine Log Village   •   Pinelog   •   Shooting Creek   •   Tusquitee   •   Warne

A USDA loan is a mortgage option available to eligible homebuyers that is sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture to promote homeownership in rural communities. USDA Loans, sometimes called "RD Loans," offer 100% financing options on eligible rural properties. USDAProperties can help you find USDA properties in Clay County.

Interested in the geographic boundaries that define USDA Loan eligibility?
View the detailed USDA boundaries and read about general conditions of
Clay County, North Carolina
USDA Boundary Details

Clay County, located in the great state of North Carolina, was established on January 29, 1861, and named in honor of the prominent 19th-century American politician and statesman Henry Clay. The county is situated in the far western region of North Carolina, bordering the states of Georgia and Tennessee. Its county seat, which is also its largest town, is Hayesville.

Clay County has a rich history with the Cherokee Indians who originally inhabited the area. The Cherokee village of Quanassee was located near what is now Hayesville. The renowned Cherokee Chief Junaluska was also born in the county.

In the 19th and 20th centuries, the region's economy relied primarily on agriculture and timber production. As part of the Appalachian Mountain chain, Clay County's geography includes beautiful peaks, valleys, rivers, and woodlands, which has made it a popular spot for outdoor recreation activities, such as hiking, fishing, and boating.

One fun fact about Clay County is that the historic Cherokee County Courthouse, constructed in 1888, is now the Clay County Historical and Arts Museum. This Greek Revival style building was saved from demolition and now hosts artifacts related to both Clay County's history and the Cherokee culture that preceded European settlement.

Featured Cities of North Carolina
Pinelog Warne
Featured Properties from USDA Loan Eligible Regions of Clay County