Find USDA Eligible Properties in Forsyth County

NC State Flag  Forsyth County Seal

Realtors in Forsyth browse list of realtors working in Forsyth County
Forsyth county has 4 realtors ready to help with your search!

February Featured Agents
Melanie Sewell   from   Fathom Realty
Rebecca Jacobs   from   Keller Williams Realty
Kristen Brown   from   eXp Realty

USDAProperties Agent Contact Page Contact an Agent for Help  

Looking to buy in Forsyth County, North Carolina?

There are 658 USDA backed residential loans in Forsyth county with an average loan balance of $124,550. Over 81% of the loans helped first time home buyers. Borrowers were an average age of 38 years old. The typical appraised home value was around $127,092. On average the rural home size purchased with this loan was approximately 1,480 SqFt. Forsyth county applies the standard USDA income limits to determine loan eligibility. For a household of upto 4 people the income limit is $90,300. For a household of between 5 and 8 people the income limit is increased to $119,200.

The size of Forsyth County is roughly 1,068 square kilometers. USDA defined regions of rural loan ineligibility in Forsyth cover 667 square kilometers of the county. Approximately 62.4% of Forsyth County is ineligible for traditional USDA home loans. The influence score for Forsyth County is 2. Look below for the interactive county level map illustration below for more details.

Select from the list of cities below or use the search feature to find active property listings in a city where you would like to live.

Start your search for USDA loan eligible properties in the cities of Forsyth County, NC   Forsyth QR code
* cities most likely to have USDA loan eligible properties for sale.

Atwood   •   Bannertown   •   Belews Creek   •   Bethania   •   Bethania Station   •   Burke Park   •   Capernium   •   Clemmons   •   Clemmons Station   •   Crims Crossroads   •   Dennis   •   Donnaha   •   Dozier   •   East Winston   •   Frontis   •   *Germanton   •   Grapewood   •   Guthrie   •   Harmony Grove   •   Hootstown   •   Horneytown   •   Kernersville   •   Lewisville   •   Muddy Creek   •   Ogburn Station   •   Pfafftown   •   Rural Hall   •   Seward   •   South Side   •   Swaimtown   •   Talleys Crossing   •   Teaguetown   •   *Tobaccoville   •   Union Cross   •   Valley View   •   Vienna   •   Walkertown   •   West Bend   •   West Oaks   •   WinstonSalem

A USDA loan is a mortgage option available to eligible homebuyers that is sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture to promote homeownership in rural communities. USDA Loans, sometimes called "RD Loans," offer 100% financing options on eligible rural properties. USDAProperties can help you find USDA properties in Forsyth County.

Interested in the geographic boundaries that define USDA Loan eligibility?
View the detailed USDA boundaries and read about general conditions of
Forsyth County, North Carolina
USDA Boundary Details

Forsyth County, located in the Piedmont Triad region of North Carolina, has a rich history dating back to its establishment in 1849. It was named in honor of Colonel Benjamin Forsyth, a distinguished officer who served in the War of 1812. The county's formation resulted from the division of Stokes County, which split into two counties, Forsyth and Stokes.

The county seat, Winston-Salem, is a combination of two towns: Winston, named after Revolutionary War hero Major Joseph Winston, and Salem, founded in 1766 by Moravian settlers led by Bishop August Gottlieb Spangenberg. Salem derives its name from "Shalom," meaning peace. In 1851, the railroad arrived, transforming the region's economic landscape and fostering rapid growth. The town of Winston was established in 1849 to serve as the county seat and was incorporated in 1859. The two towns, Winston and Salem, officially merged in 1913, creating the thriving city of Winston-Salem.

The region has a diverse economic history, spanning from its early agricultural roots to becoming a hub of industry, particularly in the tobacco, textile, and furniture sectors. R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, founded in 1875, became the leading employer in the area and played a significant role in the development of the county. In recent years, Forsyth County has evolved into a center for technology, healthcare, and higher education with the presence of institutions like Wake Forest University and Winston-Salem State University.

A fun fact about Forsyth County is the Reynolda House, which was built in 1917 as the 60-room estate of R.J. Reynolds, the founder of the R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company. Today, this iconic structure serves as a museum of American art and is home to a remarkable collection that includes works by renowned artists such as Grant Wood, Mary Cassatt, and Georgia O'Keeffe.

Featured Cities of North Carolina
Kernersville East_Winston
Featured Properties from USDA Loan Eligible Regions of Forsyth County