Find USDA Eligible Properties in Swain County

NC State Flag  Swain County Seal

Realtors in Swain browse list of realtors working in Swain County
Hey, are you a realtor interested in helping families find USDA eligible properties in Swain County?
Join the USDAProperties Realtor Network

Looking to buy in Swain County, North Carolina?

There are 47 USDA backed residential loans in Swain county with an average loan balance of $140,159. Over 85% of the loans helped first time home buyers. Borrowers were an average age of 42 years old. The typical appraised home value was around $145,825. On average the rural home size purchased with this loan was approximately 1,409 SqFt. Swain county applies the standard USDA income limits to determine loan eligibility. For a household of upto 4 people the income limit is $90,300. For a household of between 5 and 8 people the income limit is increased to $119,200.

The size of Swain County is roughly 1,400 square kilometers. There are no geographical USDA loan restrictions in this county. The influence score for Swain County is 9. Look below for the interactive county level map illustration below for more details.

Select from the list of cities below or use the search feature to find active property listings in a city where you would like to live.

Start your search for USDA loan eligible properties in the cities of Swain County, NC   Swain QR code
* cities most likely to have USDA loan eligible properties for sale.

Alarka   •   Almond   •   Big Laurel   •   Birdtown   •   *Bryson City   •   Carson Mill   •   *Cherokee   •   De Hart Mill   •   Ela   •   Fairfax   •   Franklin Grove   •   Halls Ford   •   Hewitt   •   Jackson Line   •   Lackey Hill   •   Lauada   •   Nantahala   •   Oconaluftee Indian Village   •   Proctor   •   Ravensford   •   Roundhill   •   Solola Valley   •   Talc Mountain   •   Three Forks   •   Unahala   •   Wesser   •   Whittier

A USDA loan is a mortgage option available to eligible homebuyers that is sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture to promote homeownership in rural communities. USDA Loans, sometimes called "RD Loans," offer 100% financing options on eligible rural properties. USDAProperties can help you find USDA properties in Swain County.

Interested in the geographic boundaries that define USDA Loan eligibility?
View the detailed USDA boundaries and read about general conditions of
Swain County, North Carolina
USDA Boundary Details

Swain County is located in the far western region of the great state of North Carolina in the United States. Established in 1871, it was named after David L. Swain, who served as the North Carolina governor from 1832 to 1835, and later became president of the University of North Carolina. The county seat and largest city is Bryson City.

The area that encompasses Swain County is known for its rich history that dates back to prehistoric times. Initially, Native American tribes, particularly the Cherokee, inhabited the region. After the arrival of European settlers, conflicts arose between the native inhabitants and newcomers. The friction continued throughout the 18th and 19th centuries, mainly due to competing interests in land and resources.

Swain County is famous for the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, which covers more than half of the county's area. The park is renowned for its biodiversity, stunning landscapes, and recreational opportunities, drawing millions of tourists each year. In fact, it is the most-visited national park in the United States.

A fun fact about Swain County is that it is home to the Ela Dam, also known as Lake Ela or Ela Reservoir, which is a part of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians' efforts to preserve and protect the region's water quality and natural resources. This dam, completed in 2014, is situated on the Oconaluftee River and serves as a valuable resource for the local ecosystem and the community.

Featured Cities of North Carolina
Roundhill Carson_Mill
Featured Properties from USDA Loan Eligible Regions of Swain County